top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJonathan Durgan

Making new friends in your 20's

So do you remember back when you were a kid, how easy it was to make new friends? Friendships developed so quickly over simple little things, and some of them we grew out of, but then others have stuck with us all along. But now...things are different. For some reason I never anticipated making friends as an adult to be so difficult!


I mean you have your coworkers that you spend the majority of your time with, and I still keep in touch with all of my old really close friends, but cultivating new deep relationships, takes a lot more work in your 20's then it did back in the sand pit at the public park. Don't get me wrong, it is not that I haven't met new great people, or haven't developed any relationships at all. Because that is absolutely untrue. I have met some extraordinary people, who have gone out of their way to make sure that I am doing alright, and that I don't feel totally alone.


However, it has been a while since I've had a deep connecting conversation with someone in person. I've been able to have a couple of fantastic, enlightening, and difficult talks with a couple of my closest friends, and it has meant the world to me! I think because I am such a vulnerable and raw person, I really don't tend to ever hide how I'm feeling, and if you ask me about it, I am very quick to tell you. I just don't understand why as we grow up, that people tend more and more to keep to themselves and deal with their problems alone, or with their significant other etc.. And I don't want it to be that way.


I want to be able to connect with someone on a deep level just a quickly as I used to connect with someone that I met during recess. But it doesn't work that way.


And it is just taking some time to transition into realizing that it takes a little bit longer to create and build adult friendships. And it takes a lot longer to get to know someone on a more intimate level. I hope I don't sound like I am complaining, because I don't intend to be that way at all. I just always thought that it would be easy to make lasting relationships quickly, and the more I progress into adulthood, the more I am realizing how different it is.


At the very least it has made me appreciate my other more intimate relationships even more, and I hope that I always have at least one of those people to talk to. So here is to the stuff relationships are made of, and learning how to make friends outside of the sandpit.


173 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wrapped with love

Is anyone else struggling with being Merry this Christmas season? And I don’t mean that you feel like a Scrooge and just hate Christmas,...

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page